Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Popol Vuh - Aguirre (1975)

Pioneers of German "krautrock" music, Popol Vuh was the creature of Florian Fricke (1944-2001). The first album "Affenstunde" (1970) is an early jaunt into electronic music with its massive use of the Moog synthesizer as well as added percussion. "In Den Gärten Pharaos" (1971) experimented with a fusion between electronic and organ sounds, creating an intense, almost religious ambient music. From "Hosianna Mantra" (1972) on, Popol Vuh abandoned the electronic medium to develop a personal avant-garde progressive rock music. Florian Fricke died in 2001 in his sleep.
Aguirre is the seventh album by the German progressive krautrock band Popol Vuh. It contains music used in the soundtrack to Werner Herzog's film Aguirre, the Wrath of God (1972), first released as an album in 1975 on Ohr, and reissued in 2004 by SPV with one bonus track. This score was the first of many collaborations between the group and Herzog. Only two tracks ("Aguirre I" and "Aguirre II") are from the film; the rest were gathered from various recordings done by the group during the period 1972–1974, including alternative versions of two songs ("Morgengruß II" and "Agnus Dei") originally released on the band's 1974 album, Einsjäger und Siebenjäger.


1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Great álbum German Florian Fricke

Danke Thaneco!