Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Matching Mole - Little Red Record

Matching Mole's Little Red Record (1972) is the second album of the English Canterbury Scene band Matching Mole. The band was formed in 1971 by Robert Wyattafter he left Soft Machine. Compared to their first album, Little Red Record was more of a team effort, with Wyatt taking a less involved role. It was produced by Robert Fripp of King Crimson, and features Brian Eno as a guest musician.

The album title refers to Chairman Mao's Little Red Book. This reference is also carried over to the faux-Chinese style of the album cover, which is reminiscent of posters created during the Chinese Cultural Revolution.

My favourite track of this record is "God song" - clever guitar chord progression and excellent lyrics - perfect example of Whyatt's genius. Also Brian Eno's synth fx create dark and mysterious atmosphere.

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Starting in the Middle of the Day, We Can Drink Our Politics Away (2:31)
2. Marchides (8:25)
3. Nan True's Hole (3:36)
4. Righteous Rhumba (2:50)
5. Brandy as in Benj (4:24)
6. Gloria Gloom (8:06)
7. God Song (2:59)
8. Flora Fidgit (3:26)
9. Smoke Signal (6:37)

Line-up / Musicians

- Dave McRae / grand piano, electric piano, Hammond organ
- Robert Wyatt / drums, mouth
- Phil Miller / guitars
- Bill MaCormick / bass

- Brian Eno / synthesizers

Download this gem (320kbps)

1 comment:

kike said...

Thank sweeter for sharing this gem. Best regards, K.