Thursday, August 6, 2015

Analogy vol.1 (compilation - 2005)

Create - Analogue Revival [8:02]
Remotion - Freeflight [5:17]
Loren Nerell & Steve Roach & Chuck Oken - Zone Patrol [8:14]
Paul Ellis & Steve Roach - Where are you? [5:58]
4m33s - Elegy [3:56]
Gert Emmens - The Morning after [6:23]
Syn - Viking Mission II [7:52]
Russell Storey - Cosmic Kiwi [6:43]
Kees Aerts - Grey Keys [7:45]
Altres - Brain Flame [7:54]
Modulator ESP - Tsunami [5:18]
Ian Tescee - Aquamarine [3:49]

The "Analogy Vol. 1" compilation was spawned under the ruling that each artist could use no more than 3 analogue synths (not counting drum machines, effects units, etc.). The music ranges from traditional sequencer-based berlin school (create, syn, altres, modulator esp), via melodical (remotion, emmens, aerts, tescee), ambient (ellis and roach, 4m33s) to experimental (nerell, roach and oken, storey).                                                                                                           

Programa ‎– Acròpolis (Flac format - 1985)

Programa (also written Program@ since 1999) is an electronic music duo formed in 1983 by Carlos Guirao, who had recently left Neuronium, and Josep Antoni López. They released two albums together, Syntesis Digital (1983) and Acropolis (1985).
Here (flac format)

Wednesday, August 5, 2015

Thaneco - The Myths Of Panas

Just a quick reminder for the new readers of this blog:
Thaneco's "The Myths Of Panas" is still available for free download here:

Friday, July 31, 2015

Harmonia - Musik Von Harmonia (1974 - FLAC format)

"Musik Von Harmonia" is the debut album from the highly influential Krautrock/Kosmische Musik group Harmonia. Harmonia, was formed by the addition of Neu! guitarist Michael Rother to Cluster, the duo of Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Dieter Moebius. They recorded the album from June to November 1973, in Forst Germany. It was produced by the band members.
Ned Raggett's review for Allmusic : "The debut Harmonia album is at once a product of their source bands and a fine new twist on them, resulting in music that captures what for many is the Krautrock ideal..." He adds "'s at once playful and murky, steady and mechanical, a supergroup of sorts who easily achieves and maintains such a seemingly overstated status by embracing a variety of approaches that work wonders."
R.I.P. Dieter Moebius

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Harmonia - Deluxe (1975 - remastered, flac format)

Deluxe is the second album from the highly influential Krautrock/Kosmische Musik group Harmonia. Harmonia was formed by the addition of Neu! guitarist Michael Rother to Cluster, the duo of Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Dieter Moebius.
Deluxe was recorded in June, 1975 in Harmonia's studio in Forst, Germany. It was first released on the Brain Records label in 1975. It was produced by the band members and legendary Krautrock producer, Conny Plank.[1] Ned Raggett's review for Allmusic opens: "A touch more immediate and song-oriented than its predecessor, but no less enchanting and lovely to hear, De Luxe again features the trio experimenting with a variety of approaches, most particularly including vocals here and there for the first time."[2] The Ground and Sky review by Joe McGlinchey describes Deluxe, in part: "The album also has more of a drive to it than the first Harmonia album, perhaps in part to Rother's guitar being much more upfront and noticeable, as well as the addition of Guru Guru drummer Mani Neumeier on some tracks."[3] Neumeier performs a lengthy jam on the track "Walky Talky". Ned Raggett adds: "The motorik pulses and rhythms, however soft and subtle, still dominate the proceedings, while the glazed, warm feeling of the whole album is astounding."

Get it

Moebius - Blue Moon (1986)

Dieter Moebius (born 1944 in Switzerland, died 20 July 2015) was a German/Swiss experimental-ambient electronic musician.
Moebius studied art in Brussels and Berlin and met there Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Conrad Schnitzler(Tangerine Dream). They founded a band Kluster in 1969. After the departure of Schnitzler, they changed their name to Cluster. Later Moebius and Roedelius founded the band Harmonia with Michael Rother (Neu!), which also collaborated with Brian Eno.
Dieter Moebius was involved into numerous projects with such musicians as Conny Plank, Mani Neumeier (Guru Guru).Moebius toured with Michael Rother as Rother & Moebius in 2007. Additionally, on 27 November 2007, a Harmonia reunion concert was held in Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, where the band performed together live for the first time since 1976.
"Blue Moon" was Moebius's (Cluster/Harmonia) last solo release for Sky Records. It is the soundtrack to a film of the same name, some kind of late '80s German crime thriller, possibly. Anyway, this is the only instance of Moebius writing a film score and as such it's defined by certain parameters which mark it from the rest of his work. A totally unique album.
R.I.P. Moebius!

Sunday, July 19, 2015

Michael Rother - Katzenmusik (1979)

Katzenmusik is the third studio album by the German solo artist Michael Rother. It was released in 1979 and includes the single "Katzenmusik 9" b/w "Katzenmusik 2".

The album was recorded between March and July 1979 in Germany at Rother's own studio in Forst and Conny Plank's Studio. Receiving positive reviews the album was released as an LP in 1979 before it was re-released by Polydor in 1982. The album was issued on CD in 1990, and then reisused again in 1993 with bonus tracks and having been remastered. The artwork for the album was designed by Rike with photography by Ann Weitz and Rother himself.

In this album Jaki Liebezeit (from Can) plays the drums but the entirety of the album was written and performed by Rother utilising guitar and electronic instrumentation.